The most horrible pasta ever

Rodrigo Peñaloza
2 min readDec 9, 2023

--

I once went with some friends to this Italian small restaurant in Los Angeles, owned and run by a middle-eastern guy. It was the worst tagliarini with Alfredo sauce ever. I had never had such horrible pasta in my whole life. We couldn’t eat it. “We can’t eat it, sir”, I told him, “it tastes too bad, we’re sorry, it is uneatable”. We were feeling very, very (10 times very) uncomfortable with the situation. The owner couldn’t believe in what was going on, he could only deny the obviety of the fact one time after another, “It’s not possible! How can it not taste good? It’s not possible!” So things went on for a never-ending minute - we were totally uncomfotable and he was only denial - until a friend of mine shouted out loud, “But we hate Alfredo sauce!!!” For a fortuitous coincidence that only happens to make things look even worse than they already are, this was the exact moment when the whole world decided to be silent, only to make everybody in the place hear my friend shouting and turn their stupefact faces on us. I can’t remember what I thought then, but I am gratefull to my brain for hiding that second in total oblivion. I couldn’t live with such shame. The owner broke the silence, very calmly indeed, “Ok, so you don’t like Alfredo sauce! No problem, I will take it back”. We left the place as the clients that ordered a food they hated only to return it. That’s ok, I don’t mind, at least we didn’t have to eat that thing he called Alfredo sauce. We then had the standard American pizza elsewhere: fat acid tomato sauce, spicy pepperoni, pepper, and plastic cheese.

--

--

Rodrigo Peñaloza

PhD in Economics from UCLA, MSc in Mathematics from IMPA, Professor of Economics at the University of Brasilia.